Your Support Matters

Will you lend your voice to let Halifax Council know they have your support to make this urban wilderness park a reality? We are at a critical juncture!

Expressions of support are required as city staff prepare a report for Regional Council regarding a joint proposal made by Nature Conservancy of Canada and the Shaw Group Ltd. The proposal would see the creation of an Urban Wilderness Park owned and managed by City of Halifax and Nature Conservancy of Canada in partnership. 

See what others are saying, and then add your voice!

We invite you to express support to our Halifax Councillors and are providing you with two simple steps below to do it.


STEP 1

CHOOSE, COPY & PASTE FROM FACTS BELOW INTO THE BODY OF YOUR EMAIL
If you prefer to customize your own message then please do so. Otherwise, please feel free to copy and paste some or all of the facts below into your email.

Email subject line: 
I support the NCC/Shaw Group Ltd. Urban Wilderness Park proposal
 

Suggested facts:

  • The Nature Conservancy of Canada and Shaw Group have proposed an Urban Wilderness Park on 379 acres of private land owned by the Shaw Group on Williams and Colpitt Lake, in partnership with City of Halifax.  Conservation of the site will create a perpetual legacy to the citizens of HRM. While our interests currently overlap, this may not be the case in the future. Council must act quickly to take advantage of this proposal, in order to secure the Urban Wilderness for the future.
     
  • The Purcell’s Cove Backlands and this property includes one km of Williams Lake Shoreline and almost all (4 km) of Colpitt Lake shoreline. It is home to diverse forest types and a sensitive ecosystem containing a Jackpine and Broom Crowberry plant community that is uncommon in the Province and found in few, if any other places in North America. It is nationally unique and globally rare.
     
  • Although these are barrens, the landscape is anything but barren:  this area of granite outcrops, pine-oak forest and lakeshore supports diverse plant communities along with 40 species of breeding birds, including the endangered Common Nighthawk as well as several uncommon plant species.
  • The Urban Wilderness would support an accessible (wheelchair  and stroller friendly) ‘frontcountry’ experience and more rugged ‘backcountry’ trail network for self propelled recreation, nature appreciation, education  programs and many other activities. 

  • This area has been used for generations for a wide variety of recreation, nature appreciation, artistic and other pursuits and its outstanding contributions to the community would be lost if it were developed. 
     
  • This is the last large, undeveloped wild land within the urban core of Halifax; an Urban Wilderness Park established here would be accessible to 400,000 metro residents, by foot, bike, car or Metro Transit.
     
  • In today’s complex, increasingly urban world, cities that provide ready access to nature are more and more valued—access to nature is proven to provide many physical and mental health benefits.
     
  • Progressive, world-class cities value their natural spaces and unique landscapes as green infrastructure  providing ecological services and assets for attracting people and creating healthy lifestyles.
     
  • Halifax’s own Green Network Plan public consultation process has highlighted this site as one of 3 top priorities for urban and near-urban nature protection along with Blue Mountain Birch Cove Lakes and Sandy Lake areas. 

STEP 2

COPY & PASTE THE EMAIL ADDRESSES BELOW INTO THE "TO" FIELD OF YOUR EMAIL
(The addresses will work automatically when pasted into the 'to' field)

Office of the Municipal Clerk <clerks@halifax.ca>;
Brad Anguish - Director of Parks and Recreation <anguisb@halifax.ca >;
Gail Harnish - Executive Assistant for the Director of Parks and Recreation <harnisg@halifax.ca>;
Craig Smith - Program Manager - Nature Conservancy Canada <craig.smith@natureconservancy.ca>;
Barry Dalrymple <barry.dalrymple@halifax.ca>;
David Hendsbee <david.hendsbee@halifax.ca>;
Bill Karsten <bill.karsten@halifax.ca>;
Lorelei Nicoll <lorelei.nicoll@halifax.ca>;
Gloria McCluskey <gloria.mccluskey@halifax.ca>;
Tony Mancini <mancint@halifax.ca>;
Waye Mason <waye.mason@halifax.ca>;
Jennifer Watts <jennifer.watts@halifax.ca>;
Linda Mosher <linda.mosher@halifax.ca>;
Russell Walker <russell.walker@halifax.ca>;
Steve Adams <stephen.adams@halifax.ca>;
Reg Rankin <reg.rankin@halifax.ca>;
Matt Whitman <matt.whitman@halifax.ca>;
Brad Johns <brad.johns@halifax.ca>;
Steve Craig <steve.craig@halifax.ca>;
Tim Outhit <tim.outhit@halifax.ca>;